Stormers downgrade for Lions

An exciting young WP side has been named to play the Lions on Friday night, but it is certainly not a Stormers side, as indicated in the initial fixture list.

Alongside Stormers scrumhalf Nic Groom and hooker Scarra Ntubeni, coach John Dobson has named a match 22 including twelve under 21 players, as well as a handful of Province club and Vodacom Cup players.

“It’s an exciting Province team and a good opportunity for these talented young players to make a step up against a Lions outfit that is settled and playing some great attacking rugby.” said Dobson. “The friendly is of great importance to us as we prepare for the domestic competitions, as it provides crucial game time out of competition phase and an opportunity for many of these players to put their hands up for inclusion in the squads for the domestic competitions later this year.”

The WP team to play the Lions on Friday at 19h00 at Ellis Park is:

15. Dillyn Leyds

14. Pat Howard

13. Berton Klaasen

12. Michael van der Spuy

11. Devon Williams

10. Tim Swiel

9. Nic Groom

8. Rayn Smid

7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

6. Joshua Katzen

5. Wilhelm van der Sluys

4. Taz Fuzani

3. Dylan Rogers

2. Scarra Ntubeni

1. Ashley Wells


16. Stephan Coetzee

17. Allistair Vermaak

18. Jean Kleyn

19. Carel du Preez

20. Ryan Olivier

21. Godlin Masimla

22. Kobus van Wyk

Meanwhile, Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has announced his side for the match. CJ van der Linde, Hendrik Roodt and Derick Minnie all return to the starting side, while Ruan Combrinck moves into the starting line-up at fullback.

1. JC Janse van Rensburg

2. Robbie Coetzee

3. CJ van der Linde

4. Hendrik Roodt

5. Hugo Kloppers

6. Jaco Kriel

7. Derick Minnie

8. Warren Whiteley (C)

9. Michael Bondesio (VC)

10. Marnitz Boshoff

11. Anthony Volmink

12. Alwyn Hollenbach

13. Stokkies Hanekom

14. Deon van Rensburg

15. Ruan Combrinck


16. Francois du Toit

17. Jacques van Rooyen

18. Gavin Annandale

19. Willie Britz

20. Ross Cronje

21. Dylan des Fountain

22. Lionel Cronje

23. Kobus de Kock

24. Julian Redelinghuys