Baby Boks shuffle for Baby Blacks

The SA U20’s will take on New Zealand with a reshuffled team that sees Handre Pollard at flyhalf and the front row and loose trio tweaked.

The clash, which kicks off at 15:15 today, is the last outing for both teams at the 2013 JWC tournament.

There is new prop and a rearranged loose trio combination amongst the forwards, while Theron made one positional switch and two changes in the backline, including a new-look centre combination.

Upfront Sti Sithole comes in for Andrew Beerwinkel, while the troublesome knee of Roelof Smit has forced Theron to change his preferred back row. Ruan Steenkamp moves from No 8 to flank position to accommodate Aidon Davis.

Handré Pollard shift back to flyhalf where he replaces Robert du Preez while Jesse Kriel gets his first start of the tournament at outside centre. Justin Geduld was not considered for the No 13 jersey because of a slight knee ailment.

Jannie Stander, the replacement lock who arrived earlier in the week after Jannie Kirsten was ruled out of the tournament with a fractured cheek bone, is included amongst the reserves.

Coach Theron said that his team approach this as an important encounter because any match between South Africa and New Zealand is a big occasion for both countries.

“If we look back at last year’s final against New Zealand in Cape Town then I would say we had a recipe that worked for us and we will follow much of that this time around.

“With next year’s tournament in mind, this will be an important match because four players in our starting line-up for tomorrow will still be available for next year’s tournament. They are Aidon Davis, Rohan van Janse van Rensburg, Handré Pollard and Jesse Kriel,” added Theron.

The Baby Bok team to play New Zealand on Sunday in Vannes:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province)
14. Luther Obi (Leopards)
13. Jesse Kriel (Blue Bulls)
12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Blue Bulls)
11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted)
10. Handré Pollard (Blue Bulls)
9. Stefan Ungerer (Sharks)
8. Aidon Davis (EP)
7. Jacques du Plessis (Blue Bulls)
6. Ruan Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, captain)
5. Dennis Visser (Blue Bulls)
4. Irné Herbst (Blue Bulls)
3. Luan de Bruin (Free State)
2. Michael Willemse (Western Province)
1. Sti. Sithole (Western Province)

16. Jacques du Toit (Free State)
17. Andrew Beerwinkel (Blue Bulls)
18. Jannie Stander ( Lions)
19. Kwagga Smith ( Lions)
20. Percy Williams (Lions)
21. Robert du Preez (Sharks)
22. Dries Swanepoel (Blue Bulls)
23. Marné Coetzee (Sharks)