Pumas decimate Limpopo in farce

The Pumas set a new record for the biggest victory ever in first class rugby in South Africa when they destroyed the Limpopo Blue Bulls 154-0 in Nelspruit on Saturday.

The previous record was held by Lowveld via a 163-10 victory over Transkei in 1994. The Pumas’ 154 points is the second most ever scored in South Africa, and surpassed Western Province’s 151-3 win over the Valke (then still called Eastern Transvaal) in 1995.

Quite clearly the experiment that is the Limpopo Blue Bulls, has failed!

Former Blitzbok Danwel Demas scored four of the Pumas’ 22 tries. They lead 70-0 at half-time. Jaco Bouwer and JW Bell scored three tries each, while the home team’s two flyhalves, Carl Bezuidenhout and Coenie van Wyk, converted 11 each. That is not rugby, it is a farce!

This North Section win secured the Pumas a place in the quarter-finals and the smart money has to be on them to qualify for home field advantage in the playoff.

The Sharks, the only other unbeaten team in the Vodacom Cup, need one log point in the South Section to secure a playoff spot, with only two league matches remaining before the quarter-finals.

They secured a comfortable 54-24 win over Boland on Friday afternoon, with Brynard Stander bagging two tries and Fred Zeilinga moving to 100 season points thanks to a personal haul of 24 points with the boot.

Also in the South Section, EP wingers Yamkela Ngam and Siyanda Grey both bagged two tries as they beat SWD by 52-10 on Friday. The hosts ran in seven tries against their franchise partners.

Western Province, the defending champions, fought back in the second half of their match against 2011 champions, the Pampas, at Newlands. Early in the second half, the Argentineans lead 17-5, but the Capetonians never gave up, running out 28-17 winners after scoring 23 unanswered points in the last 35 minutes.

Free State scored four tries – two of them by their captain, Tertius Daniller, as they won only their second match of the season by beating a gallant Border side by 26-25 in a thrilling match at the on Saturday.

In the North Section, the Blue Bulls were far too good for the Valke as they cantered to a 74-14 win. The three-time champions scored 12 tries, with Sampie Mastriet bagging four and three players – Courtnall Skosan, Travis Ismail and former SA Under-20 captain Wiaan Liebenberg – scoring two tries each.

On Friday afternoon, the Lions resurrected their hopes of a playoff place thanks to a hard-fought 24-11 victory over Griquas. It was only the their second win of the season.

The Leopards remained in second position on the North Section log with a good 27-7 win over the Griffons. Winger Danie Dames scored two tries, but an electrical storm saw play suspended for 33 minutes early in the match.

All the scorers:

Leopards XV 27 (6) Griffons 7 (0)

Leopards – Tries: Danie Dames (2), Morné Hanekom. Conversions: André Pretorius (3). Penalties: Pretorius (2).

Griffons – Try: Aubrey McDonald. Conversion: Inus Kritzinger.

Sharks 54 (34) Boland 24 (10)

Sharks – Tries: Brynard Stander (2), S’bura Sithole, Heimar Williams, Murray Bondesio, Jaco van Tonder. Conversions: Fred Zeilinga (6). Penalties: Zeilinga (4).

Boland– Tries: Ulrich Pretorius, Jacquin Jansen, Penalty Try. Conversions: Ricardo Croy (3). Penalty: Croy.

Lions 24 (16) Griquas 11 (6)

Lions – Tries: Warren Whiteley, Deon van Rensburg, Michael Bondesio. Conversions: Marnitz Boshoff (3). Penalty: Boshoff.

Griquas – Try: Jacques Coetzee. Penalties: Pieter-Steyn de Wet (2).

EP 52 (38) SWD 10 (5)

EP– Tries: Yamkela Ngam (2), Sianda Grey (2), Scott van Breda, Luke Watson, Tiger Mangweni. Conversions: Scott van Breda (7). Penalty: Scott van Breda.

SWD – Tries: Jeff Taljard, Kabamba Floors.

Valke 14 (7) Blue Bulls 74 (14)

Valke – Tries: Anrich Richter, Juan Kotze. Conversions: Kotze (2).

Blue Bulls – Tries: Sampie Mastriet (4), Clayton Blommetjies, Wiaan Liebenberg (2), Travis Ismail (2), Courtnall Skosan (2), Piet Lindeque. Conversions: Willie du Plessis (7).

Western Province 28 (5) Pampas 17 (12)

Western Province – Tries: Pat Howard (2), Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Tim Swiel. Conversion: Dillyn Leyds. Penalty: Leyds. Drop goal: Swiel.

Pampas– Tries: Manuel Montero, Leonardo Senatore, Matias Massera. Conversion: Benjamin Madero.

Pumas 154 (70) Limpopo Blue Bulls 0

Pumas – Tries: Danwel Demas (5), Jaco Bouwer (3), JW Bell (3), Frank Herne (2), RW Kember, Ashwin Scott, Jerome Pretorius, De-Jay Terblanche, Doppies le Roux, Renaldo Bothma (2), Eduan van der Walt, Drew van Coller. Conversions: Carl Bezuidenhout (11), Coenie van Wyk (11)

Border 25 (12) Free State 26 (12)

Border– Tries: Niell Jacobs, Mkhafu Khwezilokusa, Ernst Landendorf. Conversions: Karlo Aspelling (2). Penalties: Aspelling (2).

Free State – Tries: Tertius Daniller (2), Noel Marx, Joubert Engelbrecht. Conversions: Elgar Watts, Nico Scheepers (2).