Jantjies out, Habana back

The return of star speedster Bryan Habana, on the left-wing, is one of three changes to the Stormers starting XV to play the Canes on Friday morning.

Damian de Allende drops to the bench and Gio Aplon shifts across to the right-wing.

Pat Cilliers will start at tighthead prop, in the only change up front, whilst forwards Scarra Ntubeni, Brok Harris and Rynhardt Elstadt and scrumhalf Nic Groom join the matchday 22 on the bench.

Ntubeni – who picked up a shoulder injury during pre-season training – will make his first appearance of the season should he take to the field on Friday, whilst Elstadt is also back from a shoulder niggle after missing the Cheetahs and Sharks clashes.

Louis Schreuder will provide flyhalf cover from the bench, with coach Allister Coetzee opting to give Elton Jantjies one more week to be ready for the clash against the Blues next week.

“Elton trained well this week,” said Coetzee. “But we want to ensure that he has a full week of training (next week) and that we have him ready for the Blues match.

“(Prop) Frans Malherbe is also getting a break this week, mainly as part of our rotation policy, but also to rest a slight AC Joint injury which he suffered against the Sharks.”

Friday 09:35 Hurricanes vs Stormers, FMG Stadium, Palmerston North

Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)

Assistants: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri (New Zealand)

TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

Hurricanes:  15 Andre Taylor, Alapati Leiua, Conrad Smith (c), Tim Bateman, Matt Proctor, 10. Beauden Barrett, TJ Perenara, 8. Victor Vito, Karl Low, Brad Shields, 5. Jason Eaton, Jeremy Thrush, 3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Motu Matu’u, Ben Franks.

Bench:  Ash Dixon, Ben May, Mark Reddish, Faifili Levave, Ardie Savea, Chris Smylie, Tusi Pisi.

Stormers: 15. Joe Pietersen, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (captain), 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Gary van Aswegen, 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Michael Rhodes, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Andries Bekker, 4. De Kock Steenkamp, 3. Pat Cilliers, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Bench: 16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. Brok Harris, 18. Rynardt Elstadt, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Nic Groom 21. Louis Schreuder, 22. Damian de Allende


Comments are closed.