Blitzbokke draw hosts Russia

The draw for the Sevens World Cup in Moscow sees the Blitzbokke drawn in the same pool as hosts Russia and Scotland, who are also in the same RWC pool as the Boks.

The World Cup will be the last edition before Sevens becomes a full Olympic sport at the 2016 Rio Olympics, where a host of top stars are expected to turn to the shorter version of the game.

The tournament will be played at the Luzhniki stadium in Moscow, the centrepiece of the 1980 Moscow Olympics and the expected venue of the football World Cup final in 2018.

Wales were the shock winners of the last edition of the Rugby Sevens World Cup in Dubai in 2009, when the four favourites were knocked out in the quarter-finals.

South Africa’s women’s team were drawn alongside Australia, China and Ireland.

Men’s pools:

Pool A: Australia, Spain, France, Tunisia

Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, Russia, Japan

Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Philippines

Pool D: New Zealand, USA, Canada, Georgia

Pool E: Fiji, Wales, Tonga, Uruguay

Pool F: England, Argentina, Portugal, Hong Kong

Women’s pools:

Pool A: Canada, New Zealand, Netherlands, Tunisia

Pool B: Australia, South Africa, China, Ireland

Pool C: USA, Spain, Brazil, Fiji

Pool D: England, Russia, France, Japan