Kitshoff and Kebble make SA U20 side

Wian Liebenberg will lead a powerful SA Under-20 team at the IRB Junior World Championship 2012 in Cape Town.

Johan Goosen, Steven Kitshoff, Paul Willemse, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Paul Jordaan are the five squad members who have all played Super Rugby.

The trio of Jordaan, William Small-Smith and Tshotsho Mbovane also boast international experience, having represented the Blitzbokke.

Several squad members have played Varsity Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby. One of those being Oliver Kebble, son of former Bok prop Guy, who got his first taste of Vodacom Cup rugby off the bench for Western Province against SWD in Oudtshoorn last weekend. A massive fellow weighing in at 128 kg’s, it is said that he popped Brok Harris in his first session for the Stormers, yet has a time of around 12 seconds for the 100m dash … Kebble has not been part of any squad to date, but has clearly made an impression on coach Theron sice arriving back from France …

Flyhalf Tony Jantjies is the younger brother of Elton, the Springbok pivot. Last week the younger Jantjies helped the SA U20 training squad to 2-0 series win over Argentina.

Dawie Theron, the SA U20 coach, said he was pleased with the squad and confident that the group of promising players will be able to stand up to the challenge of their formidable opponents.

The squad assembles on 24 May in Cape Town for a holding camp.
The SA U20 JWC group fixtures are as follows:
Mon 4 June        SA vs. Ireland (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)
Friday 8 June      SA vs. Italy (UWC Stadium, 19h00)
Tue 12 June        SA vs. England (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)

Oliver Kebble

The full South Africa Under-20 squad for the Junior World Championship:

Surname Name Position Province
Leyds Dillyn  Fullback WP
Schmidt Marais  Fullback Lions
Ismaiel Travis  Wing Bulls
Jordaan Paul  Wing KZN
Mbovane Tshotsho  Wing WP
Hammond Dean Wing WP
Howard Pat Centre WP
Serfontein Jan  Centre Bulls
Small-Smith William Centre Bulls
Goosen Johan Flyhalf FS
Jantjies Tony  Flyhalf Bulls
Griesel Abrie  Scrumhalf Bulls
Luiters Kevin  Scrumhalf FS
Adendorff Shaun  Flank Bulls
Booysen Fabian  Flank Lions
Majola Khaya  Flank KZN
Liebenberg Wian  Flank Bulls
Steyn Braam  Flank KZN
Du Toit Pieter-Steph  Lock KZN
Orie Marvin  Lock Bulls
Botha Ruan  Lock Lions
Willemse Paul  Lock Lions
Dell Allan  Prop KZN
Kebble Oliver  Prop WP
Kitshoff Steven  Prop WP
Van Dyk Nicolaas  Prop KZN
Pretorius Mark  Hooker Lions
Thomas Jason  Hooker Bulls

One Comment

Comments are closed.