Heineken Cup quarterfinal time

Munster travel to the Twickenham Stoop on Sunday to face Harlequins, and become the team to have played the most Heineken Cup quarterfinals ever.

The weekend’s quarter finals:

Saturday 06 April

16h40 – Clermont Auvergne v Montpellier at Stade Marcel Michelin

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)

Assistants: JP Doyle (England), Stuart Terheege (England)

19h30 – Saracens v Ulster at Twickenham

Referee: Romain Poite (France)

Assistants: Leighton Hodges (Wales), Cédric Marchat (France)

Sunday 07 April

15h00 – Harlequins v Munster at Twickenham Stoop

Referee: Jérôme Garces (France)

Assistants: Neil Paterson (Scotland), Laurent Cardona (France)

17h30 – Toulon v Leicester Tigers at Stade Félix Mayol

Referee : George Clancy (Ireland)

Assistants: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Leo Colgan (Ireland)


It will be Munster’s 14th appearance in the knock-out stages of the Heineken Cup, and will carry them past Toulouse on 13. If they reach the semifinals for a 9th time they will have set a record 10 wins in the quarterfinals.

A look at the Heineken Cup Quarterfinal Records:


Highest Score 71 – Stade Français 71 Pontypridd 14 (1998/99)

Winning Margin 57 – Stade Français 71 Pontypridd 14 (1998/99)

Most Tries 10 – Stade Français 71 Pontypridd 14 (1998/99)

Most Appearances 13 – Munster Rugby and Toulouse

Most Wins 9 – Munster Rugby and Toulouse



Most Points 31 – Diego Dominguez (Stade Français) v Pontypridd (1998/99)

Most Tries 3 – Anthony Foley (Munster) v Biarritz Olympique (2000/01); Olivier Sarramea (Stade Français) v Newcastle Falcons (2004/05); Julien Malzieu (ASM Clermont Auvergne) v Leinster (2009/10)

Most Penalties 8 – Stephen Jones (Llanelli) v Bath Rugby (2001/02)

Most Conversions 9 – Diego Dominguez (Stade Français) v Pontypridd (1998/99)

Most Drop Goals 3 – Damien Traille (Biarritz Olympique) v Ospreys (2009/10)


Most Capped players:

108 – Ronan O’Gara (Munster);

101 – John Hayes (Munster;

94 – Peter Stringer (Munster);

91 – Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster);

87 – Leo Cullen (Leinster), Shane Horgan (Leinster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster)